MY RECENT ABSENCE

Hospital coffee

Hospital coffee


I briefly mentioned in my recent post, TANKA #5, that my youngest son – my 20 year-old, who has autism and epilepsy – spent Christmas in the hospital. After a series of missteps/under-diagnoses on the part of trusted healthcare providers, my youngest ended up having emergency surgery on his back.

After a very tough and slow start, his recovery is going well and the possibility of permanent damage has lessened – though the threat will be present for some time yet.

This was not a small thing and I don’t mind telling you that it scared the crap out of my wife and I . . . disability on top of disability reveals your place among the stars rather quickly.

I plan on resuming my writing within the next day or two.

Tagged , ,

13 thoughts on “MY RECENT ABSENCE

  1. Alice says:

    I do hope your son heals quickly and you might relax some vigilance.

    • Clyde says:

      Thank you, Alice! We’ve had huge swings from progress to setback then back again, but things are much better now. I’ll cautiously say that “normal” is within sight.

  2. elroyjones says:

    Relieved to know recovery is progressing and the threat of permanent damage is less. Thinking of you and your family.

  3. geezergirl1 says:

    Sending prayers and goodness your way.

  4. So sorry to hear that, Clyde. But glad to know that his recovery is going well!

  5. elroyjones says:

    Thinking of you all, hoping things continue to improve.

  6. julespaige says:

    We have friends who have differently-abled family members. The degrees differ. I can offer you continued support and blessing – thank you for sharing the progress, may it continue and may your strength remain unwavering.

    • Clyde says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words and support! Challenges are part of life; we all wish we had complete control over what types are thrown at us and when they’re thrown at us, but we don’t. We’re getting though this one . . . things are better now.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 156 other followers

